ARC Review: Between The Lies by Michelle Adams

42396951

Title: Between The Lies

Author: Michelle Adams

Pages: 336

Genre: Thriller

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Publication Date: March 5, 2019

Rating: 4/5

In the vein of Allison Brennan, Michelle Adams’s Between the Lies is an addictive psychological thriller with twists that keep the reader guessing until the last page, in which a woman who’s lost her memory is back home with a family she doesn’t know—who are keeping secrets of their own. The truth is hiding between the lies.What would you do if you woke up and didn’t know who you were?
Chloe Daniels regains consciousness in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
She doesn’t recognise the strangers who call themselves family. She can’t even remember her own name.

What if your past remained a mystery?
As she slowly recovers, her parents and sister begin to share details of her life.
The successful career. The seaside home. The near-fatal car crash.
But Chloe senses they’re keeping dark secrets—and her determination to uncover the truth will have devastating consequences.

What if the people you should be able to trust are lying to you?

Goodreads

The characters, setting and plot of this story made for such a compelling read. I was rooting for Chloe so much and I felt so connected to her. She has such a heartbreaking story and her family is terrible. Especially her father but her mom and sister aren’t that much better. Her father really irritated me and I know he served a specific purpose to the plot but I was just so tired of seeing him. Which I guess means kudos to Adams because she did such a great job writing such an unlikeable character.

Part of the reason this thriller works so well is that we, the reader, are figuring things out at the same time as Chloe. I also really enjoyed the progression of Chloe as she gets stronger throughout the story. As mentioned above, the setting is another part of the book that I really enjoyed. There was a lot of rain and storms which just helped to make everything feel darker and spookier. Also, the pacing was perfectly done. Nothing ever felt stagnant and things were moving along so well that I couldn’t wait to find out what was going to be revealed next.

I only gave this book four stars because I figured out the big twist about a third of the way in, although there was a lot of other stuff surrounding the big twist that I didn’t see coming. This is a thriller that really lives up to its name and I recommend this to anyone who is in the mood for a well fleshed out domestic thriller.

~Cassie

About bookswithcassiehttps://bookswithcassie.wordpress.comI'm a SAHM of three boys. I was lucky enough to marry my best friend who is totally ok with my book hoarding tendencies. I have been a lover of books my whole life and it has been such a blessing to be able to share that love with my kids.

One thought on “ARC Review: Between The Lies by Michelle Adams

  1. Pingback: 2019 First Quarter Wrap Up | Books With Cassie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s